Home page logo

basics logo Security Basics mailing list archives

Re: Help with TLD
From: "security.xentek" <eric () xentek net>
Date: Wed, 28 Mar 2007 16:58:01 -0400

Hi Thomas,

In my experience with Nod32 (its who we use for our AV as well), they have a lot of affiliates that help them sell their product. When we were first buying our licenses we must have tried three different sites, before we found (we think) their corporate order pages. The others were not taking American Express correctly.

It seems that they use these affiliate pages to flood search results, etc. for their chosen keywords. As far as the email coming back as uk.com - looks like they're using this site for some kind of email hosting service, and they may have only gotten a lower service level that requires the use of the eset.uk.com subdomain. Check out www.uk.com and you can see what kind of service this domain is offering... As far as why they went this route, looks like they don't have someone making sure their domain name policy and internet strategy is coherent.

Hope this helps some, as most of this anecdotal experience, and a bit of conjecture.

- Eric Marden

On Mar 28, 2007, at 3:27 PM, Thomas Barnett wrote:

I needed to contact the technical support for my AV vendor, Nod32. I
sent an email to ... () eset com and the reply I received was from
... () eset uk com
I would expect eset to have domains such as eset.com, eset.com.uk,
eset.co.uk or even uk.eset.com but not eset.uk.com. I would expect
eset.uk.com to be a sub domain of uk.com domain which seems to be a
referrer/affiliate site.

Any insight? Thanks

  By Date           By Thread  

Current thread:
[ Nmap | Sec Tools | Mailing Lists | Site News | About/Contact | Advertising | Privacy ]