Home page logo
/

bugtraq logo Bugtraq mailing list archives

Re: NT 4.0 default permissions
From: @ (Igor Chudov @ home)
Date: Wed, 25 Sep 1996 18:03:17 -0500


Jim Laverty wrote:

This only applies if the drive is shared.  If you go into the properties
dialog for your NT drive.  Select the "Security" tab and select
"Permissions".  Check off the "Replace permissions on subdirectories" option
and change the "Everyone" permissions to whatever you feel like dealing
with.  Also do not overuse the Auditing capabilities on "Everyone".  It can
dramatically slow down your NT sessions.

At 09:21 PM 9/25/96 +0930, Dan Shearer wrote:
I do not think this is a bug in the normal sense of the word, ie I think
that this message describes NT the way it was designed to be. Nevertheless
I suspect that people on this list would be glad of the information.

If you install an NT 4.0 workstation or server, the default permissions
on the system partition as reported by Explorer are:

  Everyone     Full Control (All) (All)

This means that building a secure, restricted-use workstation is
difficult, and that if a server becomes compromised at the share level (eg

The full control permissions also apply to a lot of system binaries
(like the "hint" program for example). Accordingly, these programs
can be replaced by trojan horses. I have no idea why Microsoft (spit)
has decided to set such dumb permissions, but I wonder how such
configuration could be C2 certified.

        - Igor.



  By Date           By Thread  

Current thread:
[ Nmap | Sec Tools | Mailing Lists | Site News | About/Contact | Advertising | Privacy ]
AlienVault