|
Bugtraq
mailing list archives
RE: Amazon phishing scam on Yahoo servers
From: Paul Laudanski <zx () castlecops com>
Date: Wed, 22 Feb 2006 23:41:04 -0500 (EST)
Thanks for the reply, I'm seeing all sorts of strange URLs being used for
the popular sites such as banks and ebay, amazon, paypal. Amazing isn't
it?
On Wed, 22 Feb 2006, Geoff Vass wrote:
Other domains used for phishing I have seen are paypal-unlocking.net,
secure.commonwealth-banking.com and
citibusinessonline.da-us.citybizcorp.com.
Surely someone, somewhere, has to take some responsibility for allowing
domains to be created which are clearly and obviously bogus. Who could
possibly have a reason to register paypal-unlocking.net?
It's also interesting to "Google" the names of the people registering
some of these domains, I have seen a few who were famous for one reason
or another. I wonder if it's possible to register a domain with the name
George W Bush or F. Castro..
Cheers
Geoff Vass
-----Original Message-----
From: Paul Laudanski [mailto:zx () castlecops com]
Sent: Tuesday, 21 February 2006 18:11
To: bugtraq () securityfocus com
Subject: Amazon phishing scam on Yahoo servers
We just got some emails for amazon phishing scams. Turns out the scam
domain was registered just today (same day). Internic and others aren't
reporting it, but Melbourne IT does. Phishing site resides on Yahoo's
servers, but their Abuse department closed at 5pm. A full 6 or so hours
to run before they open back up.
Assessment:
http://castlecops.com/a6531-Amazon_phishing_scam_on_Yahoo_servers.html
--
Paul Laudanski, Microsoft MVP Windows-Security
[de] http://de.castlecops.com
[en] http://castlecops.com
[wiki] http://wiki.castlecops.com
[family] http://cuddlesnkisses.com
[This message is for the designated recipient(s) only and may contain
privileged or confidential information. If you have received it in error,
please notify the sender immediately and delete the original. Any other
use of the email by you is prohibited.]
By Date
By Thread
Current thread:
|