|
Full Disclosure
mailing list archives
RE: Whois acting funny in FreeBSD
From: "Bassett, Mark" <mbassett () omaha com>
Date: Tue, 30 Dec 2003 13:40:05 -0600
Ps obviously they are pointing wanting you to visit
http://www.gulli.com/
which is some german (?) hack/crack/serial and news site.
Mark Bassett
Network Administrator
World media company
Omaha.com
402-898-2079
-----Original Message-----
From: Chris McGinnis [mailto:chrism () t3wireless com]
Sent: Tuesday, December 30, 2003 12:43 PM
To: full-disclosure () lists netsys com
Subject: [Full-disclosure] Whois acting funny in FreeBSD
Today I've noticed something weird on all my FreeBSD boxes. When I
whois
domains like msn.com, microsoft.com, aol.com and others I get stuff
like:
$ whois msn.com
Whois Server Version 1.3
Domain names in the .com and .net domains can now be registered
with many different competing registrars. Go to http://www.internic.net
for detailed information.
MSN.COM.TW
MSN.COM.SUCKS.FIND.CRACKZ.WITH.SEARCH.GULLI.COM
MSN.COM
My linux boxes seem to work fine. When I query a specific whois server
such as whois.networksolutions.com it works fine also. Is anyone else
getting anything like this? I'm thinking maybe the default whois server
that the whois program queries has been compromised? I'm not sure what
the
default whois server is.
-Chris
_______________________________________________
Full-Disclosure - We believe in it.
Charter: http://lists.netsys.com/full-disclosure-charter.html
************************************************************
Omaha World-Herald Company computer systems are for business use only.
This e-mail was scanned by MailSweeper
************************************************************
_______________________________________________
Full-Disclosure - We believe in it.
Charter: http://lists.netsys.com/full-disclosure-charter.html
By Date
By Thread
Current thread:
- Re: Whois acting funny in FreeBSD, (continued)
|