Home page logo

fulldisclosure logo Full Disclosure mailing list archives

Re: Suspect phpBB users
From: Ron Brogden <domains () islandnet com>
Date: Wed, 29 Dec 2004 10:58:40 -0800

On December 25, 2004 15:54, Jack Yan wrote:
    We have since upgraded, but among our new users over the last few days 
have been a Weber361, a Weber395, and a nderevyanko.

This looks like the fallout from a standard run of the mill spam bot.  The 
point of its actions being to generate as many distinct links back to the 
user's site as possible so as to increase their search engine placement.  
This is similar to referrer spamming in HTTP logs - just in this case it is 
an automated bot spamming forums instead of some other target.  I doubt it is 
caused by a worm, more likely one or more machines running dedicated software 
(though it is possible this is installed on zombie machines I suppose).


Full-Disclosure - We believe in it.
Charter: http://lists.netsys.com/full-disclosure-charter.html

  By Date           By Thread  

Current thread:
[ Nmap | Sec Tools | Mailing Lists | Site News | About/Contact | Advertising | Privacy ]