|
Full Disclosure
mailing list archives
RE: VerySign Class 1 Authority - bogus SSL certificate?
From: "Aditya, ALD [Aditya Lalit Deshmukh]" <aditya.deshmukh () online gateway technolabs net>
Date: Wed, 2 Jun 2004 08:57:51 +0530
I've been getting SSL certificates from various websites recently that are
apparently from a "VerySign Class 1 Authority" - note the 'y' in VerySign.
The certificate expired 6 December 2002.
this is a valid attempt
The data in Issued To and Issued By are identical.
no big deal in this type of cert these certs can be created by anyone, except that verisign cert would not have been
accepted by the browser, that is why we have trusted Certifacate authorities which do the validation of the certs.
This smells very much like an SSL hijack attempt - can anyone shed some
light on the situation?
if this is your site, please revoke the cert and make a new one or if u know the site owner please alert the site owner
as well as versisign
-aditya
________________________________________________________________________
Delivered using the Free Personal Edition of Mailtraq (www.mailtraq.com)
_______________________________________________
Full-Disclosure - We believe in it.
Charter: http://lists.netsys.com/full-disclosure-charter.html
By Date
By Thread
Current thread:
|