Home page logo

fulldisclosure logo Full Disclosure mailing list archives

Re: Is this a paypal scam?
From: Michael Cecil <macecil () comcast net>
Date: Fri, 19 Mar 2004 05:26:31 -0600

jschmidt () buhler com wrote:

>Signed up for paypal 2 weeks ago, and then this came in the mail as a link
>in a paypal looking html email asking me to confirm by entering my credit
>card/account info.
>I've only purchased 1 thing since signing up; it was from ebay from a
>longtime seller with nearly 100% positive feedback, and I received the
>equipment as expected.
>If this is a scam, then maybe paypal has some employees passing new
>account info outside the company.

Short answer:  Yes, it is a scam.

I don't have any paypal account (and never will) but I routinely get these kind of emails. I get them apparently from banks and credit card companies as well.

Good rule of thumb - never click on a link in email. Always use your existing known-good URL for paypal (or whatever), then check the site for security announcements, etc.
Michael Cecil
macecil () comcast net

Full-Disclosure - We believe in it.
Charter: http://lists.netsys.com/full-disclosure-charter.html

  By Date           By Thread  

Current thread:
[ Nmap | Sec Tools | Mailing Lists | Site News | About/Contact | Advertising | Privacy ]