Home page logo

fulldisclosure logo Full Disclosure mailing list archives

Re: Is this a paypal scam?
From: Nico Golde <nion () gmx net>
Date: Fri, 19 Mar 2004 15:33:24 +0100

Hallo Alerta,

* Alerta Redsegura <alerta () redsegura com> [2004-03-19 14:51]:

If this is a scam, then maybe paypal has some employees
passing new account info outside the company.

Indeed, Paypal e-mail scams started in 2002 I think.

In regards to employees passing new acct info, I have never had a paypal
account and have received several times this type of scam mail.

I would suggest you to contact Paypal and send them a full copy of the email
(as an attachment, not just re-send the e-mail, since it would drop some

I think he can make an whois question to the given ip and look if this
is an official paypal host.
regards nico
Nico Golde                | nico () ngolde de      | 310777820 () ICQ | nion () gmx net
http://www.ngolde.de      | GnuPG Key: http://www.ngolde.de/gpg/nico_golde.gpg
Fingerprint               | FF46 E565 5CC1 E2E5 3F69  C739 1D87 E549 7364 7CFF 
echo             "[q]sa[ln0=aln256%Pln256/snlbx]sb729901041524823122snlbxq"|dc

Attachment: _bin

  By Date           By Thread  

Current thread:
[ Nmap | Sec Tools | Mailing Lists | Site News | About/Contact | Advertising | Privacy ]