|
Full Disclosure
mailing list archives
Re: RE: Full-disclosure: Interesting but suspicious possible phishing mail
From: jigmed pema <spam () dacave de>
Date: Wed, 12 Jan 2005 05:33:00 +0100
Hi, i am new to the list therefore greetings and kudos to all first,
been monitoring this kind of strange mails myself, they all land in my
catchall inbox. What baffles me about them is just the same fact them
being addressed to a mailaccount on one of my subdomains i never used so
far (the site is not even up yet), and which is not existant on that
domain, starting to hit me right some hours after i had this domain
registered. They all come either from a bogus yahoo or otherwise
suspicious (spoofed??) account, all to something like jwsch <at>
mysubdomain dot com. The same subdomainname is registered by me with the
.org, .info, .net and .de extensions, those have not been addressed so
far and i wonder?
Personally i think it's random spam to check if this domain or
mailaccount on this domain are reachable, but i don't have proof for
that yet.
I shall keep an eye on those suspicious stuff furtheron.
Thank you for letting me being part on here, regards,
Jigmed Pema
RandallM wrote:
Have been getting a number of these come thru also at work.
Of course all the users are asking me questions about these.
They all have the strange words, paragraphs, and questions like this one.
They really got my attention. I at first thought they were hidden messages
but
Not so as the one we receive come as text.
thank you
Randall M
<|>------------------------------
<|>
<|>Message: 4
<|>Date: Tue, 11 Jan 2005 02:27:55 +0000
<|>From: "DAN MORRILL" <dan_20407 () msn com>
<|>Subject: [Full-disclosure] Interesting but suspicious possible
<|> phishing mail
<|>To: full-disclosure () lists netsys com
<|>Message-ID: <BAY3-F6DFC3B80597953B0FA3E1C0880 () phx gbl>
<|>Content-Type: text/plain; format=flowed
<|>
<|>Hi folks,
<|>
<|>Got this really interesting mail in my box today, and
<|>knowing that I haven't
<|>used that e-mail address or ordered anything on line lately.
<|>Wondering if it
<|>might not be a phishing e-mail. Haven't seen anything like
<|>this before.
<|>Anyone see anything similar?
<|>r/
<|>Dan
<|>
<|>
<|>
<|>from : Gabrielle U. Philips, Jr <gbhclayddnoglk () safe-mail net>
<|>Sent : Monday, January 10, 2005 10:40 PM
<|>To : "Gabrielle U. Philips, Jr" <MickeyandSnake7tit () safe-mail net>
<|>CC : mdamon () qwest net, mdamore () qwest net, mdan12 () qwest net,
<|>mdan22 () qwest net, mdan32 () qwest net
<|>Subject : Shipping Notification, Tracking Number
- - - - - - - - snip - - - - - - - - - -
_______________________________________________
Full-Disclosure - We believe in it.
Charter: http://lists.netsys.com/full-disclosure-charter.html
By Date
By Thread
Current thread:
|