Home page logo

fulldisclosure logo Full Disclosure mailing list archives

AW: Security issue in Microsoft Outlook
From: "Stein, Wilhelm Michael" <Wilhelm.Stein () detecon com>
Date: Thu, 19 May 2005 11:11:17 +0200


I cannot reproduce this using Outlook 2003. I tried it in several ways (overwriting, inserting and deleting). The link 
always leads to the site which is shown as link.


Wilhelm Stein

Data Protection and IT Security
Detecon International GmbH
Oberkasseler Str. 2 
53227 Bonn · Germany

Phone: (+49 228) 700 - 11 01 
Fax: (+49 228) 700 - 49 52
mailto:Wilhelm.Stein () detecon com

-----Urspr√ľngliche Nachricht-----
Von: Bakchodiya [mailto:bakchodiya () yahoo com] 
Gesendet: Mittwoch, 18. Mai 2005 22:28
An: bugtraq () securityfocus com
Cc: full-disclosure () lists grok org uk
Betreff: Security issue in Microsoft Outlook

An issue has been discovered in MS Outlook (All
Versions) where anyone can fake a URL & send it across.

How does it work:

Lets compose an email in MS Outlook, lets type

http://www.cybertrion.com & put a space after it to make it a link. Now put your cursor just before cybertrion & type 
any URL for eg: 
http://www.foo-labs.info now send it to anyone. The receiver will see the URL as http://www.foo-labs.info but when he 
clicks on it it will directly take him to http://www.cybertrion.com

I am not sure how critical this is but it can fool alot of people & result in download of a virus.

For more details and Discovered by:
Cybertrion Systems,

Do you Yahoo!? 
Yahoo! Mail - Find what you need with new enhanced search. 
Full-Disclosure - We believe in it.
Charter: http://lists.grok.org.uk/full-disclosure-charter.html
Hosted and sponsored by Secunia - http://secunia.com/

  By Date           By Thread  

Current thread:
[ Nmap | Sec Tools | Mailing Lists | Site News | About/Contact | Advertising | Privacy ]