Home page logo

fulldisclosure logo Full Disclosure mailing list archives

You shady bastards.
From: H D Moore <fdlist () digitaloffense net>
Date: Wed, 6 Jun 2007 08:47:12 -0500


Some friends and I were putting together a contact list for the folks 
attending the Defcon conference this year in Las Vegas. My friend sent 
out an email, with a large CC list, asking people to respond if they 
planned on attending. The email was addressed to quite a few people, with 
one of them being David Maynor. Unfortunately, his old SecureWorks 
address was used, not his current address with ErrattaSec. 

Since one of the messages sent to the group contained a URL to our phone 
numbers and names, I got paranoid and decided to determine whether 
SecureWorks was still reading email addressed to David Maynor. I sent an 
email to David's old SecureWorks address, with a subject line promising 
0-day, and a link to a non-public URL on the metasploit.com web server 
(via SSL). Twelve hours later, someone from a Comcast cable modem in 
Atlanta tried to access the link, and this someone was (confirmed) not 
David. SecureWorks is based in Atlanta. All times are CDT.

I sent the following message last night at 7:02pm.

From: H D Moore <hdm[at]metasploit.com>
To: David Maynor <dmaynor[at]secureworks.com>
Subject: Zero-day I promised
Date: Tue, 5 Jun 2007 19:02:11 -0500
User-Agent: KMail/1.9.3
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain;
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
Content-Disposition: inline
Message-Id: <200706051902.11544.hdm[at]metasploit.com>
Status: RO
X-Status: RSC


Approximately 12 hours later, the following request shows up in my Apache 
log file. It looks like someone at SecureWorks is reading email addressed 
to David and tried to access the link I sent: - - [05/Jun/2007:19:16:42 -0500] "GET /maynor.tar.gz 
HTTP/1.1" 404 211 "-" "Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC Mac OS X; en) 
AppleWebKit/419 (KHTML, like Gecko) Safari/419.3"

This address resolves to:

The whois information is just the standard Comcast block boilerplate.


Is this illegal? I could see reading email addressed to him being within 
the bounds of the law, but it seems like trying to download the "0day" 
link crosses the line.

Illegal or not, this is still pretty damned shady.



Full-Disclosure - We believe in it.
Charter: http://lists.grok.org.uk/full-disclosure-charter.html
Hosted and sponsored by Secunia - http://secunia.com/

  By Date           By Thread  

Current thread:
[ Nmap | Sec Tools | Mailing Lists | Site News | About/Contact | Advertising | Privacy ]