|
Full Disclosure
mailing list archives
Re: You shady bastards.
From: "Joey Mengele" <joey.mengele () hushmail com>
Date: Wed, 06 Jun 2007 11:24:21 -0400
This is clearly a forged electronic mail trolling attempt and
attempt at assassinating the character of HD. The real HD Moore
(famous inventor of the Millerpreter and Skapesploit) would not be
so naive/ignorant in a matter like this.
Grow up list, don't feed the trolls.
J
On Wed, 06 Jun 2007 09:47:12 -0400 H D Moore
<fdlist () digitaloffense net> wrote:
Hello,
Some friends and I were putting together a contact list for the
folks
attending the Defcon conference this year in Las Vegas. My friend
sent
out an email, with a large CC list, asking people to respond if
they
planned on attending. The email was addressed to quite a few
people, with
one of them being David Maynor. Unfortunately, his old SecureWorks
address was used, not his current address with ErrattaSec.
Since one of the messages sent to the group contained a URL to our
phone
numbers and names, I got paranoid and decided to determine whether
SecureWorks was still reading email addressed to David Maynor. I
sent an
email to David's old SecureWorks address, with a subject line
promising
0-day, and a link to a non-public URL on the metasploit.com web
server
(via SSL). Twelve hours later, someone from a Comcast cable modem
in
Atlanta tried to access the link, and this someone was (confirmed)
not
David. SecureWorks is based in Atlanta. All times are CDT.
I sent the following message last night at 7:02pm.
---
From: H D Moore <hdm[at]metasploit.com>
To: David Maynor <dmaynor[at]secureworks.com>
Subject: Zero-day I promised
Date: Tue, 5 Jun 2007 19:02:11 -0500
User-Agent: KMail/1.9.3
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain;
charset="us-ascii"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
Content-Disposition: inline
Message-Id: <200706051902.11544.hdm[at]metasploit.com>
Status: RO
X-Status: RSC
https://metasploit.com/maynor.tar.gz
---
Approximately 12 hours later, the following request shows up in my
Apache
log file. It looks like someone at SecureWorks is reading email
addressed
to David and tried to access the link I sent:
71.59.27.152 - - [05/Jun/2007:19:16:42 -0500] "GET /maynor.tar.gz
HTTP/1.1" 404 211 "-" "Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC Mac OS X;
en)
AppleWebKit/419 (KHTML, like Gecko) Safari/419.3"
This address resolves to:
c-71-59-27-152.hsd1.ga.comcast.net
The whois information is just the standard Comcast block
boilerplate.
---
Is this illegal? I could see reading email addressed to him being
within
the bounds of the law, but it seems like trying to download the
"0day"
link crosses the line.
Illegal or not, this is still pretty damned shady.
Bastards.
-HD
_______________________________________________
Full-Disclosure - We believe in it.
Charter: http://lists.grok.org.uk/full-disclosure-charter.html
Hosted and sponsored by Secunia - http://secunia.com/
--
Click here for free information on consolidating your debt.
http://tagline.hushmail.com/fc/CAaCXv1QPxZtJrSWfizeiMOCW4rzwcnw/
_______________________________________________
Full-Disclosure - We believe in it.
Charter: http://lists.grok.org.uk/full-disclosure-charter.html
Hosted and sponsored by Secunia - http://secunia.com/
By Date
By Thread
Current thread:
- Re: You shady bastards., (continued)
Re: You shady bastards. Forest Lobster (Jun 08)
Re: You shady bastards. Joey Mengele (Jun 06)
Re: You shady bastards. Joey Mengele (Jun 06)
Re: You shady bastards. J. Oquendo (Jun 06)
|