|
Full Disclosure
mailing list archives
Re: You shady bastards.
From: Jay Sulzberger <jays () panix com>
Date: Wed, 6 Jun 2007 11:29:54 -0400 (EDT)
On Wed, 6 Jun 2007, J. Oquendo <sil () infiltrated net> wrote:
H D Moore wrote:
Hello,
Some friends and I were putting together a contact list for the folks
attending the Defcon conference this year in Las Vegas. My friend sent out
an email, with a large CC list, asking people to respond if they planned on
attending. The email was addressed to quite a few people, with one of them
being David Maynor. Unfortunately, his old SecureWorks address was used,
not his current address with ErrattaSec.
Since one of the messages sent to the group contained a URL to our phone
numbers and names, I got paranoid and decided to determine whether
SecureWorks was still reading email addressed to David Maynor. I sent an
email to David's old SecureWorks address, with a subject line promising
0-day, and a link to a non-public URL on the metasploit.com web server (via
SSL). Twelve hours later, someone from a Comcast cable modem in Atlanta
tried to access the link, and this someone was (confirmed) not David.
SecureWorks is based in Atlanta. All times are CDT.
I sent the following message last night at 7:02pm.
---
From: H D Moore <hdm[at]metasploit.com>
To: David Maynor <dmaynor[at]secureworks.com>
Subject: Zero-day I promised
Date: Tue, 5 Jun 2007 19:02:11 -0500
User-Agent: KMail/1.9.3
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain;
charset="us-ascii"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
Content-Disposition: inline
Message-Id: <200706051902.11544.hdm[at]metasploit.com>
Status: RO
X-Status: RSC
https://metasploit.com/maynor.tar.gz
---
Approximately 12 hours later, the following request shows up in my Apache
log file. It looks like someone at SecureWorks is reading email addressed
to David and tried to access the link I sent:
71.59.27.152 - - [05/Jun/2007:19:16:42 -0500] "GET /maynor.tar.gz HTTP/1.1"
404 211 "-" "Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC Mac OS X; en) AppleWebKit/419
(KHTML, like Gecko) Safari/419.3"
This address resolves to:
c-71-59-27-152.hsd1.ga.comcast.net
The whois information is just the standard Comcast block boilerplate.
---
Is this illegal? I could see reading email addressed to him being within
the bounds of the law, but it seems like trying to download the "0day" link
crosses the line.
Illegal or not, this is still pretty damned shady.
Bastards.
-HD
_______________________________________________
Full-Disclosure - We believe in it.
Charter: http://lists.grok.org.uk/full-disclosure-charter.html
Hosted and sponsored by Secunia - http://secunia.com/
Why would it be illegal if his former employer accessed his email using
this method. The information going to their network is considered their
property and they could do as they see fit. I could see if in your
email you included the almost always ignored disclaimer bs though:
THIS EMAIL IS INTENDED FOR THE RECIPIENT'S EYES ONLY. YOU WILL LIKELY
IGNORE THIS ANYWAY BUT USING THIS STUPIDLY CRAFTED CONFIDENTIALITY
DISCLAIMER, I WILL FILL MORE SPACE IN YOUR INBOX AND GENERATE MORE
POINTLESS BANDWIDTH USAGE ON YOUR NETWORK. IF YOU ARE NOT THE INTENDED
RECIPIENT READING THIS EMAIL AND OR ATTACHMENTS LINKS ETAL WILL RESULT
IN US PRETENDING TO HIRE A LAWYER AND DOING SOMETHING ABOUT IT.
I know how many times I've seen these listed with someone shooting
off information to mailing lists to do an "oops f*** I sent that to
the wrong place"... What are the options now? Sue everyone who read
it? Gash their eyes out. Normally if I were going to send out an email
that was *THAT* confidential, I personally do two things:
1) Call the person to make sure they're available to get it. If not
its not sent until they're ready.
2) Secondly if I have to post something on my website for someone's
personal viewing, I usually do something like:
$ echo theirname|md5
6a9c1e04624bcc81a84800b8aa10a1f1
Where the checksum becomes the file and I send them the link to the
file. What are the odds of someone finding that checksum... Highly
unlikely.
--
====================================================
J. Oquendo
Ah, "something like". Likely in practice your file name is
saltier, and you can taste the nonce.
oo--JS.
http://pgp.mit.edu:11371/pks/lookup?op=get&search=0x1383A743
echo infiltrated.net|sed 's/^/sil@/g'
"Wise men talk because they have something to say;
fools, because they have to say something." -- Plato
_______________________________________________
Full-Disclosure - We believe in it.
Charter: http://lists.grok.org.uk/full-disclosure-charter.html
Hosted and sponsored by Secunia - http://secunia.com/
By Date
By Thread
Current thread:
Re: You shady bastards. Jay Sulzberger (Jun 06)
Re: You shady bastards. Larry Seltzer (Jun 06)
|