Home page logo

fulldisclosure logo Full Disclosure mailing list archives

Re: [funsec] facebook messages worm
From: Gadi Evron <ge () linuxbox org>
Date: Thu, 7 Aug 2008 00:15:24 -0500 (CDT)

On Thu, 7 Aug 2008, Juha-Matti Laurio wrote:
It has the following mechanism according to McAfee:

They use name W32/Koobface.worm and Kaspersky (Kaspersky Labs originally 
discovered this threat) uses name Net-Worm.Win32.Koobface.b.

This is going to *possibly* cause support line bottlenecks tomorrow.

This worm is somewhat similar to zlob, here is a link to a kaspersky paper 
on a previous iteration of it, they call it koobface:

The worm collects spam subject lines from, and then sends the users 
personal data to the following C&C:

I spoke with DirectNIC last night and the Registrar Operations (reg-ops) 
mailing list was updated that the domain is no longer reachable. That was
very fast response time from DirectNIC, which we appreciate.

The worm is still fast-spreading, watch the statistics as they fly:

The facebook security team is working on this, and they are quite capable. 
The security operations community has been doing analysis and
take-downs, but the worm seems to still be spreading.

All anti virus vendors have been notified, and detection (if not removal) 
should be added within a few hours to a few days.

For now, while users may get infected, their information is safe (UNLESS 
the worm has a secondary contact C&C which I have not verified yet).

It seems like some users may have learned not to click on links in email, 
but any other medium does not compute.


More information here too:


"John C. A. Bambenek, GCIH, CISSP" [bambenek.infosec () gmail com] kirjoitti: 
What's the infection vector?  URL Link?  Rouge Facebook app?

On Wed, Aug 6, 2008 at 4:44 PM, Gadi Evron <ge () linuxbox org> wrote:

Hi all.

There's a facebook (possibly worm) something malicious sending fake
messages from real users (friends).

The sample also has a remote drop site (verified by someone who shall
remain nameless).

This is possibly zlob, not verified. Thanks Nick Bilogorskiy for his 

Infection sites seen so far are on .pl domains.

The AV industry will soon add detection.
Facebook's security folks are very capable, so I am not worried on that

It's not that we didn't expect this for a long time now, but...
Be careful. Some users know to be careful in email.. but not on facebook.

Note: unlike 2003 when we called everything a worm and the 90s when
everything was a virus--this is a bot which also spreads/infects on


"You don't need your firewalls! Gadi is Israel's firewall."
    -- Itzik (Isaac) Cohen, "Computers czar", Senior Deputy to the
Accountant General,
       Israel's Ministry of Finance, at the government's CIO conference,

    (after two very funny self-deprication quotes, time to even things 

My profile and resume:

Full-Disclosure - We believe in it.
Charter: http://lists.grok.org.uk/full-disclosure-charter.html
Hosted and sponsored by Secunia - http://secunia.com/

  By Date           By Thread  

Current thread:
[ Nmap | Sec Tools | Mailing Lists | Site News | About/Contact | Advertising | Privacy ]