Home page logo

fulldisclosure logo Full Disclosure mailing list archives

Re: Yahoo! UK and US Hiring Security and Risk management experts
From: brian moore <bem () cmc net>
Date: Mon, 1 Mar 2010 15:23:24 -0800

On Sat, 27 Feb 2010 12:42:30 -0800
mark seiden <mis () yahoo-inc com> wrote:

it's true that yahoo is hiring security people, though, typically not as consultants
but as employees -- programmers and engineers who are clueful about 


Cause they could sure use some.... (Considering the spam I get from Yahoo, where the
Yahoo abuse people deny that web113903.mail.gq1.yahoo.com [] is part of Yahoo.)

I'd say you have a serious security problem, since if that's true, someone has compromised
your DNS servers as well as records at ARIN that say Yahoo owns that network.

Received: from n64.bullet.mail.sp1.yahoo.com (n64.bullet.mail.sp1.yahoo.com [])
        by mailhost.cmc.net (Postfix) with SMTP id 7CA5C29EB0A
        for <webmaster () kezi com>; Tue, 23 Feb 2010 09:59:41 -0800 (PST)

That didn't come from Yahoo, either, according to your employees.

Received: from n21.bullet.mail.mud.yahoo.com (n21.bullet.mail.mud.yahoo.com [])
        by bert.cmc.net (Postfix) with SMTP id 805631F918
        for <rom () rom org>; Sat, 20 Feb 2010 06:31:13 -0800 (PST)

That didn't come from Yahoo either...

Looks like someone is totally having a field day with your DNS servers and ARIN, because it certainly
can't be that your abuse staff is completely incompetent and ignoring spam complaints with lies
about it not coming from Yahoo.

Full-Disclosure - We believe in it.
Charter: http://lists.grok.org.uk/full-disclosure-charter.html
Hosted and sponsored by Secunia - http://secunia.com/

  By Date           By Thread  

Current thread:
  • Re: Yahoo! UK and US Hiring Security and Risk management experts brian moore (Mar 01)
[ Nmap | Sec Tools | Mailing Lists | Site News | About/Contact | Advertising | Privacy ]