Home page logo

fulldisclosure logo Full Disclosure mailing list archives

Re: Associate professor from Pakistan National University - spammer
From: valdis.kletnieks () vt edu
Date: Wed, 15 Aug 2012 23:49:07 -0400

On Tue, 14 Aug 2012 14:55:41 +0900, Tonu Samuel said:

 I found that person who is spamming
OpenCV list with "Plz visit my e-gaming site at http://."; is PhD

So... did you establish that the person doing the spamming actually *is*
that professor, or merely somebody who managed to phish the professor's
credentials and is using their identity to send the spam? (We get 5 or 10 phished
users a day, and maybe 1 or 2 actual spammers a year)

As you note yourself:

"Man who writes into computer vision list:
Dear Friends,
does not look like scientist with problem solving skills able to work on satellite vision problems."

So it's possible the person has been phished or joe-jobbed.

Attachment: _bin

Full-Disclosure - We believe in it.
Charter: http://lists.grok.org.uk/full-disclosure-charter.html
Hosted and sponsored by Secunia - http://secunia.com/

  By Date           By Thread  

Current thread:
[ Nmap | Sec Tools | Mailing Lists | Site News | About/Contact | Advertising | Privacy ]