Nmap Security Scanner
*Intro
*Ref Guide
*Install Guide
*Download
*Changelog
*Book
*Docs
Security Lists
*Nmap Hackers
*Nmap Dev
*Bugtraq
*Full Disclosure
*Pen Test
*Basics
*More
Security Tools
*Pass crackers
*Sniffers
*Vuln Scanners
*Web scanners
*Wireless
*Exploitation
*Packet crafters
*More
Site News
Site Search:
Exploit World
Advertising
About/Contact
Credits
Sponsors:
edgeos



Security Incidents: Re: EBay Fraud Attempt

Re: EBay Fraud Attempt

From: Stephen Friedl <steve_at_unixwiz.net>
Date: Sun, 8 Dec 2002 20:15:40 -0800

> Finally, I checked the WHOIS database entry for "ebayupdates.com" and found that
> the registrants were not eBay corporate but someone in Florida. Is it
> possible that this is a farily large scale attempt at gathering eBay
> users account and/or credit card information.

        --> fwhois ebayupdates.com_at_whois.internic.net

        [whois.melbourneit.com.au]

        Domain Name.......... ebayupdates.com
          Creation Date........ 2002-12-06
          Registration Date.... 2002-12-06
          Expiry Date.......... 2003-12-06
          Organisation Name.... Tred
          Organisation Address. 1742 BOLTON VILLAGE LANE
          Organisation Address.
          Organisation Address. NICEVILLE
          Organisation Address. 32578
          Organisation Address. FL
          Organisation Address. UNITED STATES

        Admin Name........... Eulalia Bergenthal
          Admin Address........ 1742 BOLTON VILLAGE LANE
          Admin Address........
          Admin Address........ NICEVILLE
          Admin Address........ 32578
          Admin Address........ FL
          Admin Address........ UNITED STATES
          Admin Email.......... qspam52_at_aol.com
          Admin Phone.......... 713-552-6332
          Admin Fax............

        Tech Name............ YahooDomains Techcontact
          Tech Address......... 701 First Ave.
          Tech Address.........
          Tech Address......... Sunnyvale
          Tech Address......... 94089
          Tech Address......... CA
          Tech Address......... UNITED STATES
          Tech Email........... domain.tech_at_YAHOO-INC.COM
          Tech Phone........... +1.6198813096
          Tech Fax.............
          Name Server.......... yns1.yahoo.com
          Name Server.......... yns2.yahoo.com

This is currently hosted at Yahoo! Domains, and they've been notified
on an urgent basis.

Steve

---
Stephen J Friedl | Software Consultant | Tustin, CA | +1 714 544-6561
www.unixwiz.net | I speak for me only | KA8CMY | steve_at_unixwiz.net

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
This list is provided by the SecurityFocus ARIS analyzer service.
For more information on this free incident handling, management
and tracking system please see: http://aris.securityfocus.com
Received on Dec 10 2002

[ Nmap | Sec Tools | Mailing Lists | Site News | About/Contact | Advertising | Privacy ]
edgeos