Home page logo

isn logo Information Security News mailing list archives

Re: Is Military Hiding Hacks?
From: "Talisker" <Talisker () networkintrusion co uk>
Date: Thu, 7 Jun 2001 18:27:34 +0100


As I understand it the US Army would deny all traffic except that which they
trust, the trusted addresses may also include US ISPs so that their
personnel can access certain websites from home.

As many hackers also use these US ISPs they deface a site and announce it.
But, because alldas is European they are denied access, and by the same
principle Attrition being US based can mirror US .mils

From my own personal experience, I see many us.mil referrals to my site and
yet regardless of which European ISP I use I cannot view the referring page.

I think you'll agree that the above hypothesis is viable, therefore, I
suspect that alldas are being overly paranoid.  Any thoughts from someone
who may actually know?

Talisker's Network Security Tools List

Security Tools Notification
----- Original Message -----
From: "Meritt James" <meritt_james () bah com>
To: "Jonathan Rickman" <jonathan () xcorps net>
Cc: <isn () securityfocus com>
Sent: Wednesday, June 06, 2001 2:23 PM
Subject: Re: [ISN] Is Military Hiding Hacks?

Gee, I wonder why the US military (*.mil) would want to block non-US
access to its websites?  Maybe because most of the defacements of these
sites have domain names outside of the US?  Maybe the need-to-know  of
non-US of US military information is real low?

Maybe Alldas hasn't noticed the number of hacks that come from the same
national domain they use?  Do you think they could tell the difference
if just THEY are singled out or happen to be included in a blanked
screen?  Hmmmm... Don't seem to recall any problem with defacement
mirrors within the US....

Jonathan Rickman wrote:

Here we go again...

On Mon, 4 Jun 2001, InfoSec News wrote:

Alldas staffers believe that the U.S. military is trying to cover up
defacements of its websites by blocking Alldas' access to the greater
part of the military's network.

James W. Meritt, CISSP, CISA
Booz, Allen & Hamilton
phone: (410) 684-6566

ISN is hosted by SecurityFocus.com
To unsubscribe email isn-unsubscribe () SecurityFocus com 

ISN is hosted by SecurityFocus.com
To unsubscribe email isn-unsubscribe () SecurityFocus com 

  By Date           By Thread  

Current thread:
[ Nmap | Sec Tools | Mailing Lists | Site News | About/Contact | Advertising | Privacy ]