Home page logo

nanog logo nanog mailing list archives

Re: comprehensive DNS scans from dao.andromedia.com
From: Kevin Hoadley <K.Hoadley () nosc ja net>
Date: Wed, 29 Jan 1997 10:07:03 +0000

Is anyone else seeing DNS ("ls") scan/requests from dao.andromedia.com ?

I have them blocked, but I'm curious as to what they are up to.  I asked
once, and they said that they were analyzing the dial-up IP addresses that
were hitting their web pages -- but they are slowly going over hundreds
and hundreds of domain names under our control.

Three weeks back dao.andromedia.com tried a web scan of every machine within
one of our domains. When asked why, their initial response was that they were
mistakenly trying to access an old University e-mail account within the UK.
They then amended this to explain that they were checking everyone who
hit their web site - the same excuse they gave you. However given
the machines they tried talking to included both routers and ATM switches,
this seems just a tad far-fetched ...

I can't see that they did any damage, or generated enough junk traffic, for
this to be a serious operational issue ... more educational perhaps.

Kevin Hoadley, JANET
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

  By Date           By Thread  

Current thread:
[ Nmap | Sec Tools | Mailing Lists | Site News | About/Contact | Advertising | Privacy ]