Home page logo

nanog logo nanog mailing list archives

Re: HIJACKED: -- WTF? Level3 is now doing IP hijacking??
From: Jason Pope <boards1_88 () yahoo com>
Date: Tue, 5 Apr 2011 08:54:29 -0700 (PDT)


WRT the below route object, DataBank does announce IP space for Hoechst Celanese 
Corporation as they are a direct customer of ours:

$ whois -h whois.radb.net
descr:        /16 for Celanese
origin:        AS13767
mnt-by:        DBANK-MNT
changed:      jpope () databank com 20090818
source:        LEVEL3

Currently, we only announce/originate the following prefixes via BGP:

via our providers, Level3 and Sprint.  We asked our providers to relax their 
filters for the whole /16, since Celanese owns that IP space.  That may or may 
not be a good idea, depending on your view of network management.  We did this 
in case our customer needed to announce new networks which would save us the 
time/work of placing more/new route objects in the registry.  We have the 
appropriate LOA for this network which is validated through face-to-face 
meetings with their network engineers and representatives.

DataBank is very sensitive to network abuse; we have an AUP in place with all of 
our customers and will always work hard to enforce it to prevent network abuse.

I apologize that I didn't respond sooner, but I have gotten behind on my NANOG 

Thank you,
Jason Pope
DataBank Holdings
214.720.2266 office

  By Date           By Thread  

Current thread:
  • Re: HIJACKED: -- WTF? Level3 is now doing IP hijacking?? Jason Pope (Apr 05)
[ Nmap | Sec Tools | Mailing Lists | Site News | About/Contact | Advertising | Privacy ]