nanog mailing list archives
Re: DNS entry abuse question
From: Tim Finkenstadt <timothy () erinet com>
Date: Fri, 19 Mar 1999 10:02:50 -0600 (CST)
Although we can contact bee.net and the student to address this violation of our policy, my question is whether there is anything we can do in general to prevent people from pointing DNS names at computers at Emory without our permission. Presumably there is great opportunity for mischief here, in that someone could register a domain name such as emorysucks.org and point it at our web site. If this is the wrong place to ask this question, please accept my apology and suggest an alternate place.
There isn't any way to prevent others from assigning A records in their domains to point to hosts and addresses in Emory. All you can do is contact the DNS administrators and owners of the domains to remove the offending records. The more appropriate place to ask this might be one of the BIND/DNS group/mailing lists that are out there. HTH, tim
Current thread:
- DNS entry abuse question Peter Day (Mar 19)
- Re: DNS entry abuse question Tim Finkenstadt (Mar 19)
- Re: DNS entry abuse question Randy Bush (Mar 19)
- Re: DNS entry abuse question Joe Shaw (Mar 19)
- Re: DNS entry abuse question Henry Linneweh (Mar 19)
- Re: DNS entry abuse question Tim Finkenstadt (Mar 19)
- Re: DNS entry abuse question Henry Linneweh (Mar 19)
- Re: DNS entry abuse question Edward S. Marshall (Mar 19)
- <Possible follow-ups>
- Re: DNS entry abuse question Randy Bush (Mar 19)
- Re: DNS entry abuse question Sanjay Dani (Mar 19)
- Re: DNS entry abuse question Tim Finkenstadt (Mar 19)
