Nmap Development mailing list archives

Re: [Call for Testers] Ncrack RDP module


From: ithilgore <ithilgore.ryu.l () gmail com>
Date: Wed, 25 Aug 2010 16:05:46 +0200

On 08/24/10 21:38, Thomas Buchanan wrote:
ithilgore wrote:
On 08/23/10 21:19, ithilgore wrote:
 >
 > OK I checked this against both Windows Vista Business SP 2 and Windows 7
 > Professional and whenever I already have an active remote desktop session
 > OR I am locally logged in and I start off a new remote desktop session
 > giving the right credentials, then the previous session immediately shuts
 > down and I can log in normally with the new one. I am *not* presented
with
 > a screen in which I get to choose whether or not I want to forcibly
 > disconnect the currently active session.
 >
 > You said that you tried this in Windows 7 Ultimate (which I unfortunately
 > can't test right now), so it might be that this screen pertains only to
 > that Windows version.

I just set up a clean installation of Windows 7 Ultimate and I also came
across the same behaviour as the other Windows versions: a new successful
remote desktop session immediately kills and replaces the currently active
session. So I assume that there was some other non-default configuration
taking place in your box. I would appreciate it if you would let me know
what that is.

 >
 > I might be able to get another unique fingerprint to detect that special
 > case, but first tell me if there were some other special
configurations in
 > relation to the remote desktop server in your Windows 7 Ultimate box.
This
 > might be a local group policy configuration perhaps. Was it a new and
clean
 > Windows installation? If it was, then we can be almost certain that it is
 > the *Ultimate* version that does this kind of thing and not some other
 > configuration option.
 >

Thanks,
ithilgore


Thanks for looking at this some more.  I can't recall doing any special
configuration for Remote Desktop on this system, but it's been my primary
desktop for over a year now, so something may have gotten changed along the
way that I've forgotten now.  Also, I think I installed this system from a
Microsoft public release candidate of Windows 7, and then just updated from
there, so it may have different default settings than the final release.

This is important info there. Probably this behaviour stopped occurring in
the final Windows 7 releases. Has anyone else seen this in any *final
release* Windows 7 system?


One page I found online mentioned that enabling Fast User Switching may
have an impact on this behavior, do you know if your system has that
option?  Mine appears to have it enabled, although I can't find a graphical
way to toggle the setting.  Apparently the Registry key HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
\ SOFTWARE \ Microsoft \ Windows \ CurrentVersion \ Policies \ System \
HideFastUserSwitching may have some effect on it [1].

I checked my Windows 7 Ultimate system and there is no such registry key in
there, so Fast User Switching must be on (it is on by default and this is a
clean installation). I also created a second test account in case that
affected things but still nothing changed.


I'd be happy to send you a screenshot of the message that appears when I
connect, as well as network packet captures if it helps.

Yes, please do send me a screenshot and the network packet captures.


Thanks,

Thomas


1.
http://social.answers.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/w7security/thread/643ea7cd-d98a-42be-b8d4-ba37801a9ea8



-- 
http://sock-raw.org
http://twitter.com/ithilgore
_______________________________________________
Sent through the nmap-dev mailing list
http://cgi.insecure.org/mailman/listinfo/nmap-dev
Archived at http://seclists.org/nmap-dev/


Current thread: